Tutorial: 3D Text Explode

13 03 2009

tutbanner1

At last it has arrived. Again, I apologise for the delay. So much work going on lately and so many computer problems happening on my end has kept the release of this tutorial.

I’m sure you will all find many techniques helpful in this tutorial that takes us to 3ds max and then some basic post editting in After Effects

As I have previously explained in other posts our aim is to create some 3D text in 3DS Max and then shatter the text in 3D Space to give that much asked about look.

I this tutorial there will be many questions. For example; Is there a better way to do it? Yes there can be depending on the situation, however, I find this most time effective and simplest way to create this look. In the original clip you obviously motion tracked, so why isn’t that in the tutorial? To put it simply I couldn’t be bothered at the moment. Most people have been wanting to know the shatter effect, however, the same effect can be applied to tracking data (something I will certainly cover in the future)

In addition to the text shatter in 3DS Max we export the sequence to After Effects. Although this may not be a must for all projects I have endeavored to show the work path required and the power that post editting has in an instance like this. I show some basic colour correction techniques as well as faux DOF (depth of field) and a unique vignette effect; amongst more.

Before you click the play button I do have to apologise for one thing; the audio. It is terrible I know. There is some crackling that might annoy you but I do aim to have that fixed up in future tutorials (this one was recorded after a long day so re-doing it wasn’t an option). Having said that I hope you can learn the technique and I hope that I convey the method clearly and simply.

Feel free to post comments below in regards to this tutorial and also feel free to post questions and I will try to answer them in the tutorial’s part 2, due out in a few weeks (part two will cover displament mapping and introducing design elements to work inconjunction with our shatter to bring it alive and give it purpose).

(Note:  I gave the video the PG rating to protect young ears, since when I’m working I don’t mince words. Nothing too terrible to be concerned about though. Video size 768*576 (PAL), no need to enlarge the video whilst watching )

Actions

Information

2 responses

15 03 2009
3D Shatter Exapmles « Ghost Digital

[…] 03 2009 As you are all well aware by now, I released the first of many tutorials the other day (click here to see). The tutorial was aimed at showing a technique using 3DS Max to shatter text to give us the […]

22 03 2009
3D Shatter Exapmles | PbP Tutorials

[…] you are all well aware by now, I released the first of many tutorials the other day (click here to see). The tutorial was aimed at showing a technique using 3DS Max to shatter text to give us the […]

Leave a Reply

