3D Shatter Exapmles

15 03 2009

As you are all well aware by now, I released the first of many tutorials the other day (click here to see). The tutorial was aimed at showing a technique using 3DS Max to shatter text to give us the in-vogue look. Upon making the tutorial, I thought I would quickly whip up a few examples of the technique to help you all see the endless possibilities of this technique.

So, off I went and created three examples in quick time (pardon the pun). My aim in these examples was to show how this technique can be adapted to anything; not just 3D text. That’s right!

In this example I show a simple sphere with an extremely basic red texture (some specular and glossiness) in conjunction with a light. The sphere has been ‘cut  up’ in the same method the tutorial shows with my logo hiding inside the sphere to give a nice looking reveal.

In this second example I have removed the ball and now ‘cut up’ the logo itself! The scene is essentially the same except this time I have time remapped the footage in After Effects so the clip plays in reverse giving yet again an different approach and unique logo/title reveal.

Finally I thought I would add some more elements to the same technique. The ball returns in this final rendition as well as the logo, 4 walls and a floor. The ball has once again been ‘cut up’. The floor is textured as are the walls.  The walls to the left, right and rear all have the same texure as the front wall in view. The texture on the ball is a simple HDRI image with a raytrace reflection applied (hence the need for the 3 walls out of view). After creating the explode animation I moved all key frames so the first key frame will begin at frame 60. From frame 0 to 60 I added some simple key frames to the ball to give it a very easy bounce animation. The camera is animated by linking the area of interest to the ball’s center and adding simple keyframes to the camera’s position. Nothing hard. Finally I rendered the sequence out as 60 frames per second.

In After Effects I added a basic curves adjusment to an overall adjustement layer using a simple contrast curve. Above I have a yellow solid set to multiply with a low saturation and high brightness value (covered in the tutorial). Lastly I added CC Force Motion Blur to the sequence with a slight animation to the shutter (from 720 in high impact scenes with an easy ease into 180 for the logo reveal). Of course, using 60 frames per second has allowed me to slow the clip at the impact moment for an extra special effect.

I must add, all these videos have used sound clips from the great Andrew Kramer’s “Designer Sound FX” product. I encourage you all to purchase this product from HERE. Video is only half of the job. Audio really helps to enhance the look and feel of a clip.

Really easy, really quick, really unique. There are literally hundreds of possibilities with this one technique. I can think of at least 50 things I could do; but won’t. I hope this opens your artistic ooze and the ideas flow.

Damn I should have done this in “DoD” because it’s all I can do 😛 You know who you are. Proved wrong for the 101st time pal.

Actions

Information

8 responses

15 03 2009
ghostdigital

Any questions; feel free to post a comment asking and I will answer them in detail in the next tutorial.

16 03 2009
Daniel

This is Absolutly awesome!!! I was wondering and by now im sure you’ve been asked a million times. Is there any way on gods green earth that I could get the project files for this stuff. I have a special event coming to our church that this would be perfect for. If not I understand but I figure the answers always no unless you ask. I would truly appeciate anything you could do, I would be more than happy to purchase it if you would like.

Thanks & God Bless
Daniel
Living Faith Christian Center

16 03 2009
ghostdigital

I’ve sent you a message about it on the video copilot message system. Always glad to lend a hand.

17 03 2009
Daniel

I sent you another messasge via video co pilot. Just to see the files you send will they be the final project that I see here? Cause thats the one I would sure love to use.

Thanks & God Bless
Daniel
Living Faith Christian Center

17 03 2009
Daniel

I figured text wouldn’t be much as a factor in this on but I could be wrong. It looked as if it was just the ball the a reveal of your logo. But I just dig the whole entry and impact its just put together really well. Hope you have more things commin.

Thanks
Daniel

17 03 2009
ghostdigital

So your after what I have in the last example except instead of my logo revealing you would like 3D text to reveal?

16 04 2009
Daniel

Hey there just checkin in, seeing if ya made any progress.

Thanks
Daniel

19 04 2009
ghostdigital

replying to you on VCP now 🙂

Leave a Reply

