Tutorial: Photo Adjusting

18 11 2009

So as promised a new tutorial (of sorts) is now up and ready for viewing! As mentioned in my previous post, this tutorial isn’t actually a tutorial; well not intended anyway. It is a mere reply to a request where I have decided to give a run down on my photo adjusting techniques. This video may teach you some cool little tidbits that I don’t see others do, however, the main aim of this here tutorial/video is to show you my ‘design’ process. Why do I turn a certain photo black and white? How do you decide on the scheme or adjustment you are going to apply? How do you know what look to go for what photo? Then, and only then, how do we go about creating the desired outcome.

In this video I run through a process of three photos taken on a recent bender in central Victoria. The first of the three is a HDR processed image. I run through the exposures needed and then take you into PhotoMatix do generate the image and tone map it. Finally we enter Photoshop to give it some life and mood. The second photo is a black and white conversion. I show you one (of many) technique on how to convert to black and white whilst showing a method to lighten and darken areas to increase to mood with greater flexibility and control. The final image is of an isolated field. In this shot we work out what look will suit the shots mood. Black and white? Saturated? In the end I settle on a slightly desaturated result to boost the mood of isolation.

Above are the three images that I cover in this tutorial/video. On the left we have the altered image with a split screen to the original on the right. Again, this video is not aimed to teach you Photoshop, it is aimed to help you widen your mind when looking at your photos and helping you take the step to decide on the look/feel you want to represent within. I hope you all can take something from this and possibly improve upon your own work, or at least have another few techniques in your arsenal for your next piece of work.

The three final images can be viewed HERE, HERE & HERE.

In the video you will have noticed I created a few actions. I have made those actions available for download for any of you that have trouble creating the actions that I walked you through. In addition I will also include some other actions that I did not cover in this video. As I said a number of times, this video doesn’t not show everything that I do to photos, it only shows what I do to those photos to get to the intended result.

My next tutorial, as mentioned, I will focus on one photo. I will take you from beginning to end in entirety. I won’t look at the photo beforehand. I will choose a new photo from my batch at random so that you can come on the whirlwind tour to see how I come up with my creations which may help you in your brainstorming or visualising.

Also, as mentioned in the video, feel free to drop a comment below (keep it below 200 lines of text) on any thing you may like to see me cover in future. My software expertise ranges from Photoshop, 3DS Max, XSI, Mudbox, ZBrush, Illustrator, AE, AVID, Vegas and even SolidWorks; so in other words, go nuts!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

